Posted by: kmayward | February 16, 2011

A day in Campat, Guatemala

I don`t have much time to write as I am writing this from the computer in the lobby at our hotel. But we visited Campat today. We travelled up the steepest, muddiest and rockiest roads I have seen in a long time. This community is very high up in the hills and is sometimes right in the clouds. We were able to be there for the registration of more children into the FH sponsorship program. It was incredible to see the mothers line up with their children to get them registered. The staff gathered the information about the children and then took a picture. Then the children were taken to a nearby classroom where they drew a picture for their soon to be sponsor (they drew because they do not know how to write, most of them are 5 years old). I have photos of all of this and I will post them when we are back in Guatemala City.

I am so glad that I got to see this process. I spend my days photoshopping and reviewing the childrenĀ“s information, so to be able to see the very beginning of the process was incredible. It is surely something I will never forget.

I also have a number of videos that I hope to post as well. My hope is to share with you sponsors something that some of you may never get to see.

But my encouragement is that if you ever have a chance to visit your child and see the work that FH is doing in these communities, take it, do not hesitate.

More later.

Responses

  1. THANK YOU FOR YOUR POST KMAYWARD! I WAS EXCITED TO READ YOU VISITED THE AREA WHERE I WILL SPONOR A YOUNG LADY.
    I AM EAGER TO START OUR JOURNEY TOGETHER AND LOOK FORWARD TO SHARING LETTERS WITH HER. MAYBE I CAN VISIT HER ONE DAY ! HOW EXCITED I AM FOR THIS OPPRTUNITY.
    PLEASE KEEP POSTING.
    GOD BLESS –
    KAREN


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

