Posted by: sponsorimpact | May 9, 2011

Grieving

This morning I opened my e-mail and was greeted with some sad news. This news changed my day and saddened my heart.

I am the facilitator for a fund called the HEART fund. It was created to provide assistance for children around the world who need emergency and life threatening medical assistance. This fund has provided many surgeries and other life saving treatments for many children who otherwise would die.

About a month ago we were contacted by FH staff in Uganda about a 14 year old girl named Nasta with a severe heart condition. After many consultations with doctors in Kampala and test after test, it was decided that the surgery that Nasta needed could best be provided in India as it was not yet available in Uganda. We worked closely with Nasta’s family, her doctors and FH staff in Uganda to do everything needed to make these arrangements. As of Friday the ball was quickly rolling.

The sad news that I received this morning was that Nasta passed away over the weekend. She had a very bad stomach ache on Saturday night and went to sleep. When her brother tried to wake her Sunday morning, he found that she had passed away in her sleep.

I have spent the day thinking, even grieving about a girl that I never knew. Nasta was 14 years old, the same age as some of the youth group girls that I minister to every week. How could a young girl who is just beginning her life be taken so suddenly? The sad reality is that if Nasta had been living in the US or in another developed country she could have quickly received the surgery and medical attention that she needed.

My heart is sad today. I know that ultimately God is in charge and it is all according to His will, but it never makes a life cut short any easier.

My prayers are with Nasta’s family during this time as well as the FH Uganda staff who worked very closely with Nasta’s family and labored diligently to do everything that they possibly could.

Responses

  1. ok katie, this makes me very sad. i’m sorry to hear abut this news….

  2. What a sad story. I’m so sorry. Praying that Nasta’s family and friends feel God’s comfort today.

  3. Katie,

    Thank you for writing this. Reading it makes me realize that Nasta’s life did not go by unnoticed … if not a sparrow falls to the ground apart from the Lord, how much more the life of a girl who now stands healed in His presence.

    Marty


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

